Bacalao Men was born in Caracas in 1999, when Pablo Estacio asked two musician friends to form a songo band. Within the first jam sessions, the musical structures and atmosphere that would give Bacalao its essence began to emerge, with its intelligent lyrics, afrolatin beats with jolts of funk, hip hop and electronic.


The music created during this first phase of Bacalao was developed into the first album, an independent production by Obeso/Pacanins released under the name Bacalao Men (2001). Its musical style came from a wild savor for salsa and Caribbean rhythms, but was also loaded with electronic textures and recycled everyday city sounds.


El Nuevo Bugalú (2005) was the second album, also produced independently. El Nuevo Bugalú concentrated on small chronicles told by song, and with it, the group expanded its sounds characterized by the use of native semantics of the city, religion, love, and stress.


In its third album, Sabaneando (2011), Bacalao Men continued to meander the streets of Afrolatinville, peppering in sharp electric textures. It’s important to point out the importance of Gustavo Guerrero’s guitar, which allowed us to listen to the inseparable link between Arsenio Rodriguez and Pete Townshend, as a powerful gust of wind, trombone and sax, and through these melodies allowed the band to teletransport the listeners to a groovy and bizarre futuristic salsa planet from the 70’s.


Bacalao Men is currently recording its fourth production, in which their first single/video El Maletín is already released.


Its members today: Pablo Estacio, voice and bass; Julio Andrade, sax, wind controller and backing vocals; Germán Quintero, drums and backing vocals; Luis González, guitar; Rolando González, samples, electornic, perucssion and coros.

Web page:

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon